Google Image

Google Image

May Pops

The porch faced North
shaded by ancient oaks
on either side
 
A refuge…
A hideaway…
A wonderful place
to spend a hot
summer morning…
reading…
Or
Just day dreaming as only
small town girls can do
 
At that time of year
the porch was decorated
with vines…
Vines that run
up the half rail
from the ground
all the way to the roof.
 
Vines that nearly
cover the entire
front of the house
Making a secret place
a hideaway 
 
Red trumpet vines…
Sweet honey suckle…
But…
My favorite —
Passion Flowers
 
Oh the beauty of this
flowering vine has
been said to depict
the Passion of Christ…
Some call it May Pop
because of the fruit
that develops
 
But…
To me it was always 
a Passion Flower
I could spend hours
looking at each part
and remembering the
story Mr. Thompson
told me about the –
Passion Flower and 
Christ’s Passion
 
How I wish that porch
and the Passion Flowers
were still there for me
to hide away from 
the ugliness of the world
 
Copyright © 2013 Annie – Original Poetry
Always…I wish you peace, joy and happiness, but most of all I wish you Love.
As Ever, Annie
