Source:  We Heart It

Source: We Heart It

Grace

When did it happen?
 
When did these amazing women
Women who influenced my life
in so many ways
Who taught me to be
strong…
independent…
feisty…
and shared the wisdom
of the ages become
someone I hardly recognize
 
When did time steal
their vigor
Replacing a strong
backbone and powerful gait
with a shuffling step and
thinning hair
 
When did the need for
external support using the
most advanced walkers
and canes money can buy
sneak in and change their lives
 
Closing my eyes
they sound the same
their voices unchanged
and I see them in their
grace and glory
 
But…
 
The years have not
been kind
Robbing them of their
vitality but not
their beautiful minds
The one place where
true strength will
forever remain
regardless of the
ravages of an
aging body
 
As I am entering
my own aging
They are still 
teaching me…
Mentoring me… 
 
Showing me again
by example of aging
with grace and dignity
 
Copyright © 2014 Annie – Original Poetry
Always…I wish you peace, joy and happiness, but most of all I wish you Love.
As Ever, Annie
 
 
