Some Poetry on Raymond Carver’s Prose on Poetry

Carver as an older teen

happened to meet a

gentleman who changed

his life…

his writing in general…

Poetry in particular

 

After reading his

Prose on Poetry

experience I

compared my

writing mentors…

encouragers…

to his experience

 

Poetry freedom for

me happened when

I was told poetry

DID NOT have to

Rhyme…

My eyes were opened

and the words could

flow freely across

virgin pages lined

in blue

 

Like Carver, Poetry

magazine is a must

But…

Unlike Carver, I

have not submitted

An ongoing decision

that must be made

Copyright © 2015 Annie – Original Poetry
Always…I wish you peace, joy and happiness, but most of all I wish you Love.
As Ever, Annie

This is submitted for the weekly writing challenge I post at one of my other sites and inspired by the writing Some Pose on Poetry from Carver’s last book of poetry written while he was dying of lung cancer … A New Path to the Waterfall (1989). I have been studying his collective poetry, and this book is by far my favorite.

