Source: Google Images

Source: Google Images

Hot Chocolate!

My life of crime began

at the age of 3 …

maybe 4

When you reach my

age it is difficult to

remember that long ago

 

On the weekly grocery

shopping trip with

my Mom there it was

Right at my finger tips

to tempt me

And…

I did not resist!

 

My favorite candy…

A Hershey milk chocolate bar

And …

it fit exactly into my

white patent purse

 

The deed was done and

so was the shopping

On the way home I

whipped out my pilfered

snack and began to

delicately unwrap those

tempting chocolate squares

 

With many questions my mother

pulled it out of me that

the chocolate bar had not

been paid for but was acquired

by what I have learned is called

a five-finger discount

 

Finally home, groceries put away

and the lecture began about my

life of crime and how the theft

of that chocolate bar took money

away from the store owners.

 

Result of that discussion …

Back to the store and I

was allowed to go in alone

confess my crime

And…

make financial restitution

this process was much worse

than any spanking I ever had

 

Life lesson learned that day …

My one and only day as

a chocolate thief or

thief of any kind …

 

Copyright © 2016 Annie Original Poetry
Always…I wish you peace, joy and happiness, but most of all I wish you Love.
As Ever, Annie

 

