Source: We Heart It

Source: We Heart It

Square Peg

Growing up I never fit in

with any group … any crowd

It wasn’t that insecurity caused

me to be an outsider

My family was just different

than those of my friends

Living in a small town everyone

knew everyone which  at times

is a good thing, but usually not

I was taunted and teased about

my handmade clothing

the foods my family grew and ate

the car we drove

my absent father … due to

his work schedule no one knew him

I still remember the day when one

of the popular (i.e. mean) girls in

my class pointed out the building

janitor and said loudly …

“Oh look … there is your father!”

I was mortified to no end

and…

that nasty prank made me

even more of a

Square Peg …

 

Copyright © 2016 Annie Original Poetry
Always…I wish you peace, joy and happiness, but most of all I wish you Love.
As Ever, Annie

 

