Source: WeHeartIt

Source: WeHeartIt

The Candle

The weather turned not quite cold

but wet and chilly, blustery my Mom would say

Reading in my favorite chair by the window

I added a single white taper to my side table

Not warming, but causing a more cozy feeling

as I continued to read

 

The flickering light began to make me sleepy

as I stopped reading and found myself

drawn to that single flame

I must have dozed because the next thing

I knew it was dark outside and the flame

reflected in the window

 

Looking around things were different

My house …

My room …

But different

Everything appeared a wavy reflection

as I looked across the room

The clock was not in its normal place

and the time didn’t seem to be correct

 

A whispered voice called to me

Telling me that time shifted and to

go with the flow …

Enjoy the peacefulness of the

golden candle light until

time shifts once again

I was told …

When the shift happened

I was returned to my world …

My reality …

 

A sudden chill ran through me

and looking around everything

had returned to normal …

Yet …

Things were not the same

And …

Never would be again …

 

Copyright © 2016 Annie Original Poetry
Always…I wish you peace, joy and happiness, but most of all I wish you Love.
As Ever, Annie